Add to collection
  • + Create new collection
  • Photo of the four Galilean satellites of Jupiter.
    Rights: NASA Published 27 March 2013, Updated 29 June 2021 Size: 56 KB Referencing Hub media

    Galileo discovered Jupiter’s largest moons in 1610. Another astronomer of the time, Simon Marius, named them Io, Europa, Ganymede and Callisto after the lovers of Zeus, the ancient Greek mythological King of the Gods and Men. Currently Jupiter has 53 named moons and another 26 awaiting official names. Combined, scientists now think Jupiter has 79 moons.

      Go to full glossary
      Download all