Add to collection
  • + Create new collection
  • There are many different types of volcanoes around New Zealand. This interactive map shows where the major volcanoes are, the types of volcanoes and various facts such as when they last erupted. Select a label to find out more.

    To find out more about the Auckland volcanic field go to this interactive.

    To use this interactive, move your mouse or finger over any of the labelled boxes and select to obtain more information.


    Kaikohe, Bay of Islands

    A scoria cone volcano that last exploded around 1,300–1,800 years ago. Located north-west of Paihia in the Bay of Islands, it is the northernmost volcano in New Zealand.

    Acknowledgement: GeoNet

    Whāngārei Volcanic Field

    Formed over a hot spot (not a plate boundary), similar to Auckland, but much older. The Whāngārei field was active from 2.3 million years ago until approximately 30,000 years ago. It produced mainly scoria cone volcanoes.

    Acknowledgement: Public domain

    Little Barrier Island

    An extinct andesite cone. The lava was thick so it formed a steep-sided cone, which has been weathered over time to form the present shape of the island. Last erupted between 1 and 3 million years ago.

    Acknowledgement: Dick Veitch

    Mayor Island

    Mayor Island last erupted around 500–1,000 years ago. Around 6,300 years ago Mayor Island exploded violently forming two calderas. These were largely filled in by subsequent eruptions.

    Acknowledgement: Lloyd Homer, GNS Science

    White Island

    The summit of a submerged stratovolcano (a type of cone volcano). Measuring from the seafloor, the volcano is over 1,900 m in height and is still active, releasing gases and steam regularly. The most recent eruption was in December 2019.

    Acknowledgement: GeoNet

    Whale Island

    A complex volcano (made of more than one type, e.g. caldera and cone). Classified as active but last eruption was around 9,000 years ago. Hot springs can still be found on the island, which suggests the vent is still intact.

    Acknowledgement: Public domain


    Last erupted in 1886, destroying nearby settlements including Te Wairoa. This eruption also destroyed the world-famous Pink and White Terraces. Mt Tarawera is a ryolite cone volcano, part of the Okataina volcanic centre.

    Acknowledgement: Carl Lindburg, Creative Commons 3.0


    A caldera formed around 240,000 years ago. Unusually, this erupted only weeks after the explosion that formed Lake Rotorua, located 30 km to the north-east of Ōhakuri. Ōhakuri is part of the Taupō volcanic zone.

    Acknowledgement: Vicki Mundoo, Creative Commons 2.0


    Lake Rotorua is a caldera volcano that erupted about 240,000 years ago. The eruption caused the mountain to collapse, and the hole has since been filled by water, forming a lake. The eruption was followed weeks later by an explosion at Ōhakuri.

    Acknowledgement: GeoNet


    A caldera volcano that last erupted about 1,800 years ago. This eruption was the most violent the world has experienced in the past 5,000 years. The lake covers many separate vents, three of which were involved in the last eruption.

    Acknowledgement: GeoNet


    A stratovolcano (a type of cone volcano) that is still active. It first erupted around 2,500 years ago, and the most recent eruption was in 1975. Ngāuruhoe is formed from a side vent of the Tongariro volcano.

    Acknowledgement: GeoNet


    Geologically a group of 12 volcanoes, located north of Mt Ruapehu, which also includes Mt Ngāuruhoe. Part of the Taupō volcanic zone. Last eruption was in 1896 from the Te Mari crater on the north-west side of the mountain.

    Acknowledgement: GeoNet


    The highest mountain in the North Island (2,797 m) is a stratovolcano (a type of cone volcano). The volcano has three summits. Crater Lake is located in the current active crater close to the summit. Last erupted in 2007.

    Acknowledgement: GeoNet


    An andesite cone volcano that last erupted in 1854. Formed over a period of around 130,000 years, this mountain is an almost perfect cone shape – one of the best examples of a cone volcano worldwide.

    Acknowledgement: Kubais, licensed through

    Akaroa, Banks Peninsula

    Banks Peninsula was formed by stratovolcanoes (a type of cone volcano), particularly at Akaroa and Lyttelton. This area was once a plate boundary, similar to the Taupō volcanic zone today. Last erupted 6 million years ago.

    Acknowledgement: Philo Vivero, Creative Commons 3.0

    Mount Horrible

    Mt Horrible is the high point on this landscape – it is the the projecting corner at the edge of the bluff. The basalt from this ancient volcano forms the landscape and harbour of Timaru. It is also the source of the local bluestone. Mt Horrible last erupted around 2 million years ago.

    Acknowledgement: Google Earth

    Mount Cargill

    An extinct shield volcano (formed by a volcanic field) that last erupted around 10 million years ago. The rock from the eruption formed basalt columns on the eastern side of the mountain, the organ pipes.

    Acknowledgement: Public domain

    Rights: The University of Waikato Published 9 April 2010, Updated 9 December 2019 Size: 380 KB Referencing Hub media
          Go to full glossary
          Download all